Cowboy Star: San Diego Steaks

July 29, 2014 3:27 pm

The East Village of San Diego has some jangle in its spurs thanks to Cowboy Star. The restaurant won the 2008 Orchid Award for Interior Design for its gorgeous exposed beam ceilings and Western accents. The display kitchen offers diners a view of all the action taking place on the line, as well as offering you a peak at some of the great stuff being made.

The menu has numerous hand-cut steaks that have been aged to perfection. These prime cuts are hormone and antibiotic free, and you should feel free to add a scallop or some bone marrow onto your order. Also onsite here is a full-service butcher shop. This walk-in retail space adjoins the restaurant and is a great way to take the fresh and delicious cuts served up here home with you.

With so much to offer, Cowboy Star might just be San Diego's top spot for steaks.

Cowboy Star
640 10th Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
(619) 450-5880

Category: Restaurants Tags: , ,

Cinema Under the Stars

July 22, 2014 1:56 pm

Cinema Under the Stars is like a drive-in movie without the cars. Instead, there are three outdoor seating areas, one with tables & chairs, one with reclining chairs and one with little cabanas and loveseats. Older films are shown here, so don’t plan on seeing the latest blockbuster – think Breakfast at Tiffany’s or The Graduate. Don’t worry about getting chilly, they have heaters that run when the weather gets brisk.

Popcorn, coffee, soft drinks and candy are available at the concessions stand at reasonable prices. Tickets with reserved seating for all performances go on sale on Thursdays at 6 p.m. and generally sell out for all shows quickly. Showings are Thursdays through Sundays at 8 p.m. See their website for schedules.

Cinema Under the Stars
4040 Goldfinch Street
San Diego, CA 92101
(619) 295-4221

Category: Things To Do Tags: , , ,

Watch Out for These Surprising Sources of Gluten

July 15, 2014 5:14 pm

Whether you suffer from celiac disease or you simply want to promote a healthier lifestyle, more and more people are cutting gluten out of their diets. Gluten is most prominent in breads and other foods containing wheat, but it also sneaks its way into some fairly surprising dishes that you might not expect. Here are a few lesser known sources of gluten.

  1. Veggie burgers. Sure, veggie burgers are a great meat alternative for vegans and vegetarians, but that doesn’t mean that they’re right for gluten-free eaters. Many store-bought brands of veggie burgers contain wheat gluten, and some homemade recipes do as well.
  2. Salad dressing. While replacing a sandwich with a salad is a great way to stick to your gluten-free diet, be careful of the dressings that you choose to top that salad. A number of the thickening agents found in salad dressings achieve their effects with the help of gluten. Check for a substance called “modified food starch” before you purchase any dressing.
  3. Potato chips. Potato chips technically don’t contain gluten because most are made with potatoes and oil, but some brands of flavored potato chips contain flavorings that contain wheat, barley, or rye. Be cautious of any potato chips flavored with things like barbecue or sweet onion.

There’s Gluten In That? [Everyday Health]
10 Surprising Gluten-Containing Foods [Delicious Living]
7 Foods You Never Knew Contained Gluten [HuffPost Healthy Living]

Category: Miscellaneous Tags: , , ,